Password ManagerBitwarden Send

Send FAQs

Q: Why can't I create a file Send?

A: Use of text Sends is available to all Bitwarden users, however creation of file Sends is only available for premium users, including members of a paid organization (families, teams, or enterprise).

Additionally, creation of file Sends requires your email address to be verified.

Q: Why are sends missing from my send view?

A: By design, Sends are ephemeral. Each created Send has a maximum lifespan of 31 days, configurable when you create a Send or at any time by editing it. When a Send's deletion date is reached, it will be purged from Bitwarden systems and inaccessible to both the sender and any recipients.

Q: Can I disable Send for my organization?

A: Enterprise organizations can disable Send at any time using the Remove Send policy. Admins and owners can implement this policy from the organization's SettingsPolicies page. Enabling the policy will prevent organization members from creating or editing any Sends.

Q: Can Send be used on an internal network to share outside of the network?

A: Send is designed to be an end-to-end encrypted URL that can be shared through the web. Using Send outside of an internal network will require that ports 80 & 443 be opened. If you are using a reverse proxy, the following variables must be added to ./bwdata/env/global-override.env:

globalSettings__attachment__baseDirectory=/etc/bitwarden/core/attachments
globalSettings__attachment__baseUrl=https://YOURDOMAINHERE/attachments
globalSettings__send__baseDirectory=/etc/bitwarden/core/attachments/send
globalSettings__send__baseUrl=https://YOURDOMAINHERE/attachments/send
Text Copied!
note

Alternatively, Send can be used online through your cloud organization. Having a self-hosted organization does not restrict usage of the cloud organization, both platforms will operate with the same subscription!



© 2023 Bitwarden, Inc.
TermsPrivacySitemap